St Collen's Church is dedicated to an Irish-Welsh monk, Collen, who is reputed to have arrived in Llangollen by coracle in the 7th century.
The monument to Mary Carryl and the Ladies of Llangollen can be found in the churchyard.
The church is a fascinating building. The peace within the building is palpable and the handiwork of many craftsmen is to be seen everywhere. The roof of the building and its carved oak ceiling is probably interesting and inspiring feature of the church. It was installed in 1450 by expert craftsmen under the close supervision of the Abbot of Valle Crucis Abbey.